How we came to be Brightwater Care Group Ltd.

Brightwater Care Group Ltd was established as the Homes of Peace for the Dying and Incurable in 1898, as an initiative of Lady Madeleine Onslow and Dr Athelstan Saw.

In 1997, Homes of Peace (Inc.) changed its name to Brightwater Care Group (Inc.). In the 2015/2016 financial year, Brightwater transferred its registration as an incorporated association to a company limited by guarantee and registered under the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth), allowing the adoption of an enhanced governance framework.

Brightwater Care Group Limited is a public company limited by guarantee and a not-for-profit organisation. Brightwater receives funding from a range of government entities:

  • The Department of Health and Ageing
  • The Department of Health, WA
  • The Western Australian Disability Services Commission
  • The National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA)
  • The Mental Health Commission and
  • The Department of Communities (Disability Services), WA

A strong commitment to community service, which motivated the organisation’s founders, continues to underpin all our activities. While Brightwater is non-denominational, the organisation maintains a strong values-based culture and promotes partnership and teamwork as fundamental working models.

Board directors are elected from subscribers, who are individual members of the company with constitutional objects, powers, rules and procedures.

The Board is responsible for governance and major directional policies and employs a Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer responsible for general and risk management and the provision of financial administrative services.

There are four Board committees: Governance, Care, Business, Audit & Risk. 

A copy of our Governance Charter is available here. 

An Annual Report is published every November, with an audited financial report for the preceding financial year. This is presented to subscribers, general members and guests at the Annual General Meeting.

Meet our Executive Team

Meet our Board